Athletic Therapy

Athletic therapy is for people of all ages, from children to seniors.

The athletic therapist is an expert in the prevention, evaluation and rehabilitation of musculoskeletal injuries.

Book an appointment
image Athletic Therapy
What is Athletic Therapy?

Athletic therapists are experts at injury prevention, assessment and rehabilitation. They follow the Sports Medicine Model of care and are specialized in musculoskeletal injuries which involves any type of injury (acute or chronic) that involves muscle, joints, and bones. Therefore, Athletic therapy is a therapy that can help anyone with almost any type of injury. Athletic therapists are well known for their on-field emergency care for athletes of recreational, competitive, elite or professional level. They always have the same treatment goal, which is to get our clients back to doing their daily activities or sports without pain.

How does an appointment go?
A typical athletic therapy session will involve questions of the client’s medical history, previous injuries, overall health and well being, and to gather information on their daily activities or sports. The therapist observes functional movements and posture before proceeding to a hands-on assessment with special tests (joint mobility tests, strength and manual muscle tests, nerve testing, etc). Once we have a differential diagnosis, we will treat injuries using numerous manual techniques, exercise prescription, bracing and taping techniques, and modalities (massage, joint mobilizations, soft tissue techniques, proprioceptive neuromuscular facilitation techniques, stretches, ultrasound, electrical stimulation, and many more).

Interesting facts:

  1. Did you know that athletic therapists are specialized in concussion testing and rehabilitation?

  2. We don’t only treat athletes, athletic therapy is made for everyone – We treat anyone from any age, kids to older population.

  3. We treat post-operative injuries whether from sport injury or not.

Our professionnals

  • Kelsey Coulter
    Kelsey Coulter
    Athletic Therapist and Massage Therapist
Kelsey Coulter

Kelsey Coulter

Athletic Therapist and Massage Therapist
Expertises : Concussions, Athletic Therapy, Massage Therapy
Book an appointment
Kelsey graduated from Concordia University in 2018. She completed her Bachelor's degree in Exercise Science with a specialization in Athletic Therapy. She began her career working in Vaudreuil in the clinic and on the field with sports teams from Cité-des-Jeunes high school and the Sport-études program at Chêne-Bleu high school. She has also been a part of numerous events with the “Réseau du Sport Étudiant du Québec” (RSEQ) as an Athletic therapist and sports first responder.

As she continued to grow in her career, she developed a passion for massage therapy and soft tissue release techniques. During her treatments, she has always prioritized the muscular system. She therefore carried on to study massage therapy at A+ Performance School of Massotherapy and completed Swedish massage and deep tissue courses. In her massage therapy treatments, you will find her style very unique as she takes a therapeutic approach by combining her athletic therapy skills and massage therapy skills. She expands her knowledge by continuing education courses and will be taking a myofascial and lymphatic drainage course this summer 2021. She is always looking forward to developing new skills to provide the best treatments for her clients.

Kelsey enjoys being out in nature hiking, walking, biking, rollerblading and camping. Any outdoor activity brings Kelsey happiness and fun times! Being outside doing activities or simply out for a picnic helps take care of her physical and mental health. Kelsey has a passion for baking and finds it is a therapeutic and relaxing activity to do in her free time.

Thérapie du sport

La thérapie du sport s'adresse à des personnes de tous âges, des enfants aux personnes âgées.

Le thérapeute du sport est un expert dans la prévention, l’évaluation des blessures musculo-squelettiques et dans la réadaptation.

Prendre rendez-vous
image Thérapie du sport
Qu’est-ce que la thérapie du sport?

Le thérapeute du sport est un expert dans la prévention, l’évaluation des blessures et dans la réadaptation. Il suit le modèle de soins de la médecine sportive et se spécialise dans les blessures musculo-squelettiques, c’est-à-dire tout type de blessure (aiguë ou chronique) impliquant les muscles, les articulations et les os. Par conséquent, la thérapie du sport est une thérapie qui peut aider toute personne souffrant de presque tout type de blessure. Le thérapeute du sport est bien connu pour assurer les soins d’urgence sur le terrain pour les athlètes de niveau récréatif, compétitif, d’élite ou professionnel. L’objectif de traitement est de permettre au client de reprendre ses activités quotidiennes ou sportives sans douleur.

 

Comment se déroule un rendez-vous?

Une séance typique de thérapie sportive comprend des questions sur les antécédents médicaux du client, ses blessures antérieures, son état de santé général et son bien-être,

ainsi que des informations sur ses activités quotidiennes ou sportives. Le thérapeute observe les mouvements fonctionnels et la posture avant de procéder à une évaluation pratique à l’aide de tests spéciaux (tests de mobilité articulaire, tests de force et tests musculaires manuels, tests nerveux, etc.) Le thérapeute du sport établit un diagnostic différentiel et traite les blessures à l’aide de nombreuses techniques manuelles, de prescriptions d’exercices, de techniques d’attelles et de bandes adhésives et d’autres modalités (massage, mobilisations articulaires, techniques de tissus mous, techniques de facilitation neuromusculaire proprioceptive, étirements, ultrasons, stimulation électrique, et bien d’autres).

Faits intéressants :

  1. Saviez-vous que le thérapeute du sport possède une expertise dans l’évaluation et le traitement des commotions cérébrales?

  2. Détrompez-vous, la thérapie du sport ne s’adresse pas seulement à des athlètes. Le thérapeute du sport traite des personnes de tous âges, des enfants aux personnes âgées.

  3. Il est possible de traiter les blessures post-opératoires, qu’elles soient dues à une blessure sportive ou non.

Nos professionnels

  • Kelsey Coulter
    Kelsey Coulter
    Thérapeute du sport et massothérapeute
Kelsey Coulter

Kelsey Coulter

Thérapeute du sport et massothérapeute
Expertises : Les commotions cérébrales, Thérapie du sport, Massothérapie
Prendre rendez-vous
Kelsey a obtenu son diplôme de l'université Concordia en 2018. Elle a obtenu son baccalauréat en sciences de l'exercice avec une spécialisation en thérapie du sport. Kelsey a commencé sa carrière en travaillant à Vaudreuil dans la clinique et sur le terrain avec les équipes sportives de l’École secondaire de la Cité-des-Jeunes et le programme Sport-études de l'École secondaire du Chêne-bleu. Elle a également participé à de nombreux événements avec le Réseau du Sport Étudiant du Québec (RSEQ) en tant que thérapeute du sport et premier répondant sportif.

Au fur et à mesure qu'elle a progressé dans sa carrière, elle a développé une passion pour la massothérapie et les techniques de relâchement des tissus mous. Lors de ses traitements, elle a toujours priorisé le système musculaire. Elle a donc poursuivi ses études en massothérapie à l’École de massothérapie A+ Performance et a suivi des cours de massage suédois et de tissus profonds. Dans ses traitements en massothérapie, vous trouverez son style très unique car elle adopte une approche thérapeutique en combinant ses compétences en thérapie sportive et en massothérapie. Elle approfondit ses connaissances en suivant des cours de formation continue et suivra un cours de drainage myofascial et lymphatique cet été 2021. Elle est toujours prête à développer de nouvelles compétences pour offrir les meilleurs traitements à ses clients.

Kelsey aime être dans la nature en faisant de la randonnée, de la marche, du vélo, du roller et du camping. Toute activité de plein air apporte à Kelsey du bonheur et des moments de plaisir! Être à l’extérieur pour faire des activités ou simplement faire un pique-nique l'aide à prendre soin de sa santé physique et mentale. Kelsey a une passion pour la pâtisserie et trouve que c'est une activité thérapeutique et relaxante à faire pendant son temps libre.