Acupuncture

Acupuncture, a thousand-year-old practice of Chinese medicine, is now practiced throughout the world.

Acupuncture is a safe and effective treatment option with a scientific and clinical foundation to improve health and relieve pain.

Book an appointment
image Acupuncture
What is acupuncture?

Acupuncture, a thousand-year-old practice of Chinese medicine, is now practiced throughout the world. Although it was originally a natural, empirical science, acupuncture is now supported by extensive scientific research. Acupuncture is therefore a safe and effective treatment option with a scientific and clinical foundation.

In traditional Chinese medicine, acupuncture is an energetic medicine that assumes the existence of a vital energy, called Qi, that circulates in the body in an orderly fashion through channels called meridians. This energy can be stimulated through certain areas on the body called acupuncture points. Recent research has shown that almost all acupuncture points are associated with nerves and have physical and biological properties that can be used to help the body self-regulate and promote healing.

The practice of acupuncture is any act of stimulation, usually by means of needles, of specific sites on the skin, mucous membranes or subcutaneous tissues of the human body for the purpose of improving health or relieving pain.

 

What happens during an acupuncture appointment?

Acupuncture is a holistic medicine, it considers the individual as a whole with their strengths and weaknesses (the so-called terrain) and takes into account their living conditions. This medicine does not only look for the symptoms but rather for the cause of the imbalance and treats the problem at the source.

The first session is therefore dedicated to the establishment of the energy balance from which the orientation of the treatment is derived according to your reality and your terrain. 

Then we move on to the treatment. All acupuncture points are disinfected with alcohol. Most of the acupuncture points can be stimulated on the surface and therefore do not require deep insertion. The needles are then left in place for some time. During the insertion or after the removal of the needles, we may add other treatment modalities.

shape
  • What conditions can be treated with acupuncture?

    It has been clearly established that for these eight conditions, acupuncture can be recommended and integrated into treatment plans: 
    • Allergies: seasonal and year-round allergic rhinitis
    • Headaches: chronic tension headache or chronic episodic headache
    • Migraines: prevention of attacks
    • Chronic back pain
    • Post-operative pain
    • Postoperative nausea and vomiting
    • Nausea and vomiting related to chemotherapy (with antiemetics) 
    • Osteoarthritis of the knee
      In the same vein, acupuncture has also been scientifically proven to have a positive effect on 38 other conditions. These include various pains, asthma, stroke, hypertension, insomnia, gastrointestinal disorders such as constipation or irritable bowel syndrome, dry eye or post-traumatic stress disorder. For a complete list, visit Acupuncture Quebec (lien URL : https://www.acupuncture-quebec.com/decouvrir-acupuncture/troubles-traites.html)
  • What other means of stimulation can be used in acupuncture?

    To accomplish the same goals, the acupuncturist may also use other treatment modalities besides needles such as heat (moxibustion, heat lamp), pressure (cupping, tuina massage, acupressure, ball-pressure), electricity (electro-acupuncture) and light beam (soft laser).
  • Does acupunture hurt?

    The insertion of the acupuncture needles gives a sensation similar to a mosquito bite; it lasts only a fraction of a second and leaves no marks. Once the needles are in place, the patient usually feels a sense of well-being and relaxation..

Interesting facts :

  1. In addition to relieving pain and increasing blood circulation, acupuncture has multiple mechanisms of action. It triggers the release of energy and stimulates the production of endorphins and increases the production of neurotransmitters. Acupuncture helps reduce inflammation and affects the central nervous system, muscles and organs, neuromuscular conditions, the expression of certain genes, and the immune system.

  2. In Quebec, we only use single-use needles.

  3. Did you know that auriculopuncture (treatment on the ear) is used all over the world to help manage trauma?

  4.  Recent studies show that acupuncture can be recommended for the treatment of sports injuries such as sprains, strains, pain in the neck, shoulder, wrist, knee, etc.

  5. Acupuncture is reimbursed by the CNESST, the SAAQ and the Veterans Affairs when prescribed by a physician.

Our professionnals

  • Sylvia Mack
    Sylvia Mack
    Acupuncturist
Sylvia Mack

Sylvia Mack

Acupuncturist
Expertises : Acupuncture
Book an appointment
Ever since Sylvia graduated in acupuncture from College Rosemont in 2016, she has been passionate about this millennial medicine. During her internship in the treatment of addictions at the Centre de réadaptation en dépendance de Montréal (CRDM), she developed a keen interest in the treatment of emotional disorders and trauma which she is constantly deepening through continuous education classes (notably with Dr. Gabor Maté, Lonny Jarret, Acupuncturists Without Borders and NADA). Sylvia welcomes her patients with empathy and remains in the room throughout the treatment.

Right after graduation, she managed her own acupuncture clinic in Lac-Mégantic. In 2018, she moved her professional activities to the West-Island where she practiced at different locations. Since she joined the clinic in Vaudreuil in 2019, she continues to improve her skills in the treatment of musculoskeletal problems, chronic pain and sports acupuncture, including the Synergy method with Valerie Truong. She is also trained to treat pregnant women.

Sylvia loves the outdoors, whether it be hiking, biking, swimming or gardening. For her mental and physical balance, she likes to meditate, practices Tai Chi and Yoga, but when she needs to unwind, she likes to play Beat Saber.

Acupuncture

L’acupuncture, une pratique millénaire issue de la médecine chinoise, est maintenant pratiquée à travers le monde.

L’acupuncture est une option de traitement sécuritaire et efficace avec une fondation scientifique et clinique visant à améliorer la santé et à soulager la douleur.

Prendre rendez-vous
image Acupuncture
Qu’est-ce que l’acupuncture?

L’acupuncture, une pratique millénaire issue de la médecine chinoise, est maintenant pratiquée à travers le monde. Si elle était à la base une science naturelle et empirique, l’acupuncture est de nos jours corroborée par de nombreuses recherches scientifiques. L’acupuncture est donc une option de traitement sécuritaire et efficace avec une fondation scientifique et clinique.

Dans la médecine traditionnelle chinoise, l’acupuncture est une médecine énergétique qui présume l’existence d’une énergie vitale, nommée Qi, qui circule dans le corps de façon ordonnée à l’intérieur de canaux appelés méridiens. Cette énergie peut être stimulée à travers certaines régions sur le corps qu’on nomme des points d’acupuncture. Les recherches récentes ont démontré que la quasi-totalité des points d’acupuncture sont associés avec des nerfs et qu’ils possèdent des propriétés physiques et biologiques qui peuvent être utilisées pour aider le corps à s’autoréguler et promouvoir la guérison.

L’exercice de l’acupuncture constitue tout acte de stimulation, généralement au moyen d’aiguilles, de certains sites déterminés de la peau, des muqueuses ou des tissus sous-cutanés du corps humain dans le but d’améliorer la santé ou de soulager la douleur.

Comment se déroule une séance d’acupuncture?
L’acupuncture est une médecine holistique, elle considère l’individu dans son ensemble avec ses forces et ses faiblesses (ce qu’on appelle le terrain) et elle tient compte de ses conditions de vie. Cette médecine ne cherche pas seulement les symptômes mais cherche plutôt la cause du déséquilibre et traite le problème à la source.

La première séance est donc consacrée surtout à l’établissement du bilan énergétique dont découle l’orientation du traitement en fonction de votre réalité et votre terrain. 

Ensuite, nous passons au traitement. Tous les points d’acupuncture sont désinfectés avec de l’alcool. La majorité des points d’acupuncture peuvent être stimulés à la surface et ne nécessitent donc pas une insertion profonde. Les aiguilles sont ensuite laissées sur place pendant un certain temps. Pendant la pose ou après le retrait des aiguilles, il est possible que nous ajoutions d’autres modalités de traitement.

shape
  • Quelles conditions peuvent être traitées en acupuncture?

    Il a été clairement établi que pour ces huit conditions, l’acupuncture peut être recommandée et intégrée aux plans de traitement : 
    • Allergies : rhinites allergiques saisonnières et perannuelles
    • Céphalées (maux de têtes) : céphalée de tension chronique ou céphalée épisodique chronique
    • Migraines : prévention des crises
    • Douleurs lombaires chroniques
    • Douleurs post-opératoires
    • Nausées et vomissements en postopératoire
    • Nausées et vomissements liés à la chimiothérapie (avec antiémétiques) 
    • Ostéo-arthrite du genou
    Dans le même ordre d'idée, l'acupuncture a également démontré scientifiquement un effet positif pour 38 autres conditions. Parmi celles-ci se trouvent des douleurs diverses, l’asthme, AVC, l’hypertension, l’insomnie, des troubles gastro-intestinaux comme la constipation ou le syndrome du côlon irritable, l’œil sec ou le trouble du stress post-traumatique. Pour la liste complète, rendez-vous sur Acupuncture Québec.
  • Est-ce que l’acupuncture fait mal?

    L'introduction des aiguilles d'acupuncture donne une sensation qui ressemble à une piqûre de moustique; cela ne dure qu'une fraction de seconde et ne laisse aucune marque. Lorsque les aiguilles sont en place, le patient ressent en général une sensation de bien-être et de détente.
  • Quels autres moyens de stimulation peuvent être utilisés en acupuncture?

    Pour accomplir les mêmes objectifs, l’acupuncteur peut également utiliser d’autres modalités de traitement autres que les aiguilles telles que la chaleur (moxibustion, lampe chauffante), les pressions (ventouses, massage tuina, acupression, bille-pression), l’électricité (l’électro-acupuncture) et le rayon lumineux (laser doux).

  1. En plus de soulager la douleur et d’augmenter la circulation sanguine, les mécanismes d’action de l’acupuncture sont multiples. Elle déclenche la libération d’énergie et stimule la production d’endorphines et augmente celle des neurotransmetteurs. L’acupuncture aide à réduire l’inflammation et affecte le système nerveux central, les muscles et les organes, et les conditions neuromusculaires, l’expression de certains gènes, le système immunitaire.

  2. Des études récentes démontrent que l’acupuncture peut être recommandée pour le traitement de blessures sportives telles que des foulures, entorses, douleurs dans le cou, épaule, poignet, genou, etc.

  3. Au Québec, nous utilisons seulement des aiguilles à usage unique.

  4. Saviez-vous que l’auriculopuncture (traitement sur l’oreille) est utilisée dans le monde entier pour aider à gérer des traumas.

  5. L’Acupuncture est remboursée par la CNESST, la SAAQ et les Anciens Combattants sur prescription du médecin.

Nos professionnels

  • Sylvia Mack
    Sylvia Mack
    Acupunctrice
Sylvia Mack

Sylvia Mack

Acupunctrice
Expertises : Acupuncture
Prendre rendez-vous
Sylvia a obtenu son DEC en acupuncture au collège Rosemont en 2016 et elle est passionnée par cette médecine millénaire. Lors d’un stage en traitement de dépendances au Centre de réadaptation en dépendance de Montréal (CRDM), elle a développé un intérêt prononcé pour les troubles émotionnels et les traumatismes qu’elle continue à approfondir avec des cours de perfectionnement (de Dr. Gabor Maté, Lonny Jarret, NADA et Acupuncturists Without Borders). Elle accueille ses patients avec empathie et reste dans la salle tout le long du traitement.

Dès la fin de ses études, elle a pris en charge la gestion de sa clinique à Lac-Mégantic. En 2018, elle a transféré ses activités professionnelles à l’ouest de Montréal où elle a pratiqué à différents endroits. Depuis qu’elle a rejoint l’équipe de la clinique de Vaudreuil en 2019, elle continue à se perfectionner dans les traitements de troubles musculosquelettiques, des douleurs chroniques en acupuncture sportive, notamment la méthode Synergie avec Valérie Truong. Elle est aussi formée pour traiter les femmes enceintes.

Sylvia adore être en plein air que ce soit à pied, en vélo, à la nage ou en jardinant. Pour son équilibre physique et mental, elle aime méditer, faire du Tai Chi et du Yoga, mais quand elle a besoin de se défouler, elle aime jouer au Beat Saber.